Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Navigation

NMO Module 4 - The Contents Tab

by Rose Hessmiller last modified Jan 10, 2013 11:47 AM
Description of all the content actions of the Contents tab including: list, reorder, rename,cut, copy, paste, change the state, delete, and undo.
banner_left.jpg

The Contents Tab

The contents tab provides a tabular view of the contents of a folder. It also allows you to reorder content, rename content, change the state of content, cut, copy, and paste content, and delete content.
If you do not see a contents tab, you do not have permission to perform actions on the content.

If you think you should be able to perform actions on the content, email your request to the portal administrator at info@rmportal.net.

List Content

1. To list the contents of a folder, click on the folder's contents tab. A tabular listing of contents is shown. If you do not see a contents tab, you do not have permission to manipulate the content.
contents tab

This tabular view lists each item's title, size, last modified date, state, and folder order. content window

Reorder Content

To reorder the individual items in a folder, upwards or downwards:

1. Click on the folder's contents tab. If you do not see a contents tab, you do not have permission to reorder the content.

2. Locate the up and down arrows in the order column.
reorder

3. To move an item up in the folder listing, click the item up arrow.

4. To move an item down in the folder listing, click the item down arrow.

Rename Content

To rename one or more items stored in a folder:

1. Click on the folder's contents tab. If you do not see a contents tab, you do not have permission to rename the content.
contents tab

2. Place a checkmark next to the item(s) you wish to rename. Checking multiple items allows for multiple renaming.

3. Click the rename buttonrenmae.

4. Each item has a Short Name and a Title that you can change.

  • Typically you should not change the auto-generated short name (file name).
  • Type a new title.
  • Repeat for each title that you want to change.

4. Click the rename all button. The title(s) is/are changed.

Cut, Copy, and Paste Content

Items can be cut, copied, and paste within and between folders. To move (cut) or copy items:

1. Click on the source folders contents tab. If you do not see a contents tab, you do not have permission to cut, copy, or paste the content.
contents tab

2. Locate the item(s) that you want to cutcut or copycopy. Place a checkmark next to that item(s).

3. Click the cut or copy button.

  • Cut and paste will remove the content from the original location
  • Copy and paste will copy the content, leaving it both in the source location and in the target location.

4. Navigate to the folder where you wish to paste the content.

5. Click the paste buttonpaste. The content will either be moved (cut) or copied (copy) there.

Note that cut content is not removed from the source location until it is pasted.

Change the State of Content

The state of content can be changed individually or as a group. To change the state of an item(s):

1. Click the contents tab and locate the item that you want to change the state of. If you do not see a contents tab, you do not have permission change the state of the content.
contents tab

2. Place a checkmark next to the item(s) that you want to change the state of.

3. Click the change statechange state button. The publishing process screen appears.

4. Scroll down to the Change State section near the bottom of the page.

5. The states that you have permission to change the content to are listed.

6. Click the bullet next to a new state. Note that if content is published, it must be retracted before it can be edited further.

7. Click the save button. The state of the content you have selected is changed.

Delete Content

You can delete content that you have created, that you have shared ownership of, or sufficient privilege to delete.

1. To delete content, navigate to the folder where the content is located.

2. Click the folder's contents tab. Folder content will be listed in a table. If you do not see a contents tab, you do not have permission delete the content.
contents tab

3. Place a check mark next to the content you wish to delete.

4. Click the delete buttondelete. Content is deleted.

Undo

Undo is an option available as a link on the orange global actions bar. It is unreliable and we would not suggest using it.

previous page start.gif
Back to Top